## Carroll County Communication District Planning Committee (CCCDPC) 2/8/2023 Meeting Minutes

Location: Administration Building, Carroll County Complex, 95 Water Village Rd., Ossipee, NH

Meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Chuck Fuller at 10:00 AM.

- Roll Call Present: Rick Hiland (Albany), Stephen Berry (Brookfield), Marshall Goldberg
  (Brookfield), Bert Weiss (Chatham), John Border (Eaton), Stanley Dudrick (Eaton), Chuck Fuller (Effingham), Linda
  Mailhot (Freedom), Bill Houk (Hales Location)ZOOM, John Gallagher (Harts Location), David Walker (Harts
  Location), Bill Lord (Madison), Mary Cronin (Madison)(ZOOM), Bill Gassman (Moultonborough), Jean Beadle
  (Moultonboro), Andrew Chehayl (Tamworth), Bob Murray (Tuftonboro); Others Present Matthew Plache
  (Consultant),; Others on Zoom Glenn Coppelman (NCC), Frank DiFruscio (Jackson), Vicki Garland (Bartlett),;
  Public none
  - (17 Representatives & Alternates present in person and 2 Representative on ZOOM and 12 of 14 Towns are represented)
- 2. Minutes Chuck Fuller motioned to approve the November 2, 2022 minutes as presented, 2nd by Bill Lord. There was no discussion, errors or omissions and it was passed unanimously by roll call vote (12-0).
- 3. Vice Chairman Chuck Fuller announced to the committee that Chairperson Diane Jarecki has resigned as Chairperson. Rick Hiland made a motion to accept Diane's resignation with regret and thanked her for the great job she has done to get the committee this far in the process, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chuck Fuller and passed unanimously by all present on a voice vote. (12-0)
  - It was also requested to send a thank you letter to Diane to thank her for all she has done.
- 4. Chuck Fuller called for any interest in assuming the Chairman's position from the committee with no one volunteering or to the Clerks position. Chuck Fuller then motioned to appoint Linda Mailhot (current Clerk) to the position of Chairperson, with Chuck remaining as Vice Chair, Stephen Berry remaining as Treasurer and appointing Rick Hiland to the position of Clerk, 2<sup>nd</sup> John Border and it passed unanimously by roll call vote (12-0).

NOTE: Chairperson Linda Mailhot assumed the chair and continued to conduct the meeting.

- 5. Treasurer's Report Stephen Berry reported that there were no distributions from the checking account and that the account has a current balance of \$30,100.00. A motion to approve the treasurer's report was made by Chuck Fuller, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Andrew Chehayl and passed unanimously by roll call vote (12-0).
- 6. Acceptance of Representatives from the Towns of Bartlett and Jackson: Rick Hiland made a motion to accept Vicki Garland from Bartlett and Frank DiFruscio from Jackson as their respective representatives to the CCCDPC, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Bert Weiss and it passed unanimously by roll call vote (14-0).
- 7. John Gallagher reported that the first \$50 million Broadband grant was awarded to NH Broadband/NHEC and that the 2<sup>nd</sup> round \$40 million grant has not been awarded as of today but is due by the end of February.
- 8. Updates from Matt Plache our consultant:

All 16 Towns public hearings are complete. Matt has submitted the district agreement to the NH Attorney General's office for final review and approval per the statutes. They have 30 days to review the

agreement. The statute states that if they do not communicate with any concerns within 30 days from submission we are good to go.

Matt explained that there have been no changes to the agreement and a copy will be for coming to committee representatives.

Matt asked all representatives to check with their respective Select Boards to make sure they have the Warrant Article worded correctly with the addition of Bartlett and Jackson listed.

Matt and Chairperson Mailhot asked that all the Representatives need to make every effort to attend their respective Town Meeting to be able to answer any questions.

Matt also distributed a draft information sheet that representatives can use at their respective Town Meetings in order to answer any questions that may come up.

Matt asked for any suggestions to this draft from the committee. Several suggestions and additions were offered, Matt will update and distribute to all representatives shortly.

Matt will be available by phone on March 14<sup>th</sup> should anyone have any questions or issues at their Town Meetings.

Matt submitted an invoice for consulting fees, mileage & charges to date totaling \$12,789.15. The Executive committee will review and place on agenda for the next meeting for approval and payment.

- 9. Communications District Agreement Matt explained that there have been no changes to the last draft of the agreement that was used for the public hearings.
- 10. New Business Rick Hiland mentioned that he and Chairperson Linda Mailhot should attend a Carroll County Commissioners meeting to ask if the balance of the consulting grant could be applied to the Communication District treasury upon formation.

It was decided to hold a publicly noticed final county wide public hearing on the Communication District Agreement on March 1, 2023 along with our scheduled committee meeting. Public & news media invited

Also NH State Senator Jeb Bradley submitted SB222 legislation removing "unserved" from the broadband bonding statutes. Please look it up on line at the Legislature web site and submit support and any testimony you can offer.

- 11. Next Meeting & Public Hearing March 1, 2023 at 10AM at the Carroll County Administration Building, 2<sup>nd</sup> floor meeting room subject to confirmation for the County Office that the meeting room is available.
- 12. Meeting attendance Roll Call and roll call votes attached below.
- 13. Adjournment the Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 11:34 AM

Respectfully submitted,

Rick Hiland Clerk

## Meeting attendance Roll Call and roll call votes:

Meeting Date: February 2, 2023

Meeting Date: February 2, 2		Attendance	Towns	OFFICER Vote	JACKSON BARTLETT VOTE	Minutes	Treas urer report	
Steve Knox	ALBANY	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Rick Hiland	ALBANY	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Stephen Berry	BROOKFIELD	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Marshall Goldberg	BROOKFIELD	Υ	-	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Bert Weiss	CHATHAM	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Susie Laskin	CHATHAM	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Tom Reed	CONWAY	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
TBD	CONWAY	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
John Border	EATON	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Stanley Dudrick	EATON	Υ	-	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Chuck Fuller	EFFINGHAM	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Diane Jarecki	EFFINGHAM	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Linda Mailhot	FREEDOM	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Melissa Florio	FREEDOM	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Bill Houk	HALES LOC	Y ZOOM	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Ben Klaus	HALES LOC	Υ	-	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
John Gallagher	HARTS LOC	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
David Walker	HARTS LOC	Υ	-	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Bill Lord	MADISON	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Mary Cronin	MADISON	Y ZOOM	-	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Bill Gassman	MOULTONBORO	Υ	-	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Jean Beadle	MOULTONBORO	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Matt Sawyer Jr.	OSSIPEE	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Matt Trahan	OSSIPEE	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Sherryl Hitte	TAMWORTH	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Andrew Chehayl	TAMWORTH	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Guy Pike	TUFTONBORO	N	-	-	-	-	-	-
Bob Murray	TUFTONBORO	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	-
Frank DiFriscio	JACKSON	Y ZOOM	Υ	-	-	-	-	-
Vicki Garland	BARTLETT	Y ZOOM	Υ	-	-	-	-	-
-	YES	17 + 2	14	12	12	12	12	-
	NO	9 abs	2	0	0	0	0	-