Carroll County Communication District Planning Committee (CCCDPC) 10/12/2022 Meeting Minutes

Location: Administration Building, Carroll County Complex, 95 Water Village Rd., Ossipee, NH

Meeting was called to order by Chair Diane Jarecki at 10:02AM.

- Roll Call Present: Rick Hiland (Albany), Stephen Berry (Brookfield), Marshall Goldberg (Brookfield), John Border (Eaton), Stanley Dudrick (Eaton), Diane Jarecki (Effingham), Melissa Florio (Freedom), Bill Houk (Hales Location)(ZOOM), John Gallagher (Harts Location), David Walker (Harts Location), Mary Cronin (Madison), Bill Gassman (Moultonborough), Jean Beadle (Moultonboro), Andrew Chehayl (Tamworth), Bob Murray (Tuftonboro); Others Present – Matthew Plache (Consultant); Others on Zoom – none; Public – none. (14 Reps present in person and 1 Rep on ZOOM and 11 of 14 Towns are represented)
- Minutes John Border motion to approve September 28, 2022 minutes as presented, 2nd by Stephen Berry. There was no discussion, errors or omissions and it was passed unanimously (11-0).
- 3. Treasurer 's Report Stephen Berry reported that he had received the grant check from the County and deposited it in the checking account which has a current balance of \$30,100.00. A motion to approve the treasurer's report was made by Jean Beadle, 2nd by David Walker and passed unanimously (11-0).
- 4. John Gallagher reported that the first \$50 million Broadband grant was awarded to NH Broadband/NHEC (waiting for the Governor's signature) and that the 2nd round grant application period is currently open with an announcement scheduled for the end of November.
- Communications District Agreement/Bylaws Review the recent revisions and discussion. Matt Sawyer from Ossipee contacted the Chairperson and thought that Sections 5 & 6 were in conflict. After discussion it was determined to remove "general obligation bonds" from Sect. 6. Mary Cronin also had some grammar and punctuation corrections for Matt Plache.

The following are the revisions made at today's meeting and were agreeable by all present: Section 1 to 5 – no changes Section 6 – remove "general obligation bonds" Section 7 to 12 – no change Section 13 – remove ""from one annual meeting to the next" Section 14 – remove the last sentence " No member Town shall have more than one Representative serving as an Officer at any time". Section 15 to 22 - no changes Section 23 – add "Fiscal year July 1 to June 30" Section 24 to 33 – no changes

- 6. Matt Plache (Consultant) informed the committee that he had been in contact with the NH Attorney General's office and now has a contact person there who will be reviewing our agreement/bylaws. He also mentioned that we need to get a schedule of public hearings in the Towns sooner than later and would like to start in December at the latest due to that fact that the NH Attorney General has as much as 30 days to review and approve the agreement/ bylaws per the statute after the public hearings are have been held. He wants to start contacting the town Select Boards to start scheduling the public hearings. Public Hearings all need to be noticed per NH Statute. He will work on this with the Executive Committee.
- 7. After some discussion of the process, it was determined that we should send the current draft agreement/bylaws to the NH Attorney General for review and comment so we may establish communications with them and get any ideas that they may have to add or remove from our draft. Andrew Chehayl motioned to approve todays draft with revisions and for Matt Plache to send them to the NH Attorney General for comment and recommendations, 2nd by Melissa Florio, and passed unanimously with a roll call vote (11-0).
- 8. New Business Rick Hiland reported that he is waiting on definitive answer from NHMA about district membership, and PRIMEX needs copy of bylaws/agreement and other information after the district is formed to see if we qualify for liability and bonding insurance coverage.
- Next Meeting November 2, 2022 at 10AM at the Carroll County Administration Building, 2nd floor meeting room subject to confirmation for the County Office that the meeting room is available.
- 10. Meeting attendance Roll Call and roll call votes attached below.
- 11. Adjournment the Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 11:19 AM

Respectfully submitted,

Rick Hiland Volunteer Meeting Recorder

Meeting attendance Roll Call and roll call votes:

Meeting Date: October 12, 2022

				Draft
		Attendance	Towns	Vote
Steve Knox	ALBANY	N		
Rick Hiland	ALBANY	Y	Y	Y
Stephen Berry	BROOKFIELD	Y	Y	Y
Marshall Goldberg	BROOKFIELD	Y		
Bert Weiss	CHATHAM	N		
Susie Laskin	CHATHAM	N		
Tom Reed	CONWAY	N		
TBD	CONWAY	N		
John Border	EATON	Y	Y	Y
Stanley Dudrick	EATON	Y		
Chuck Fuller	EFFINGHAM	N		
Diane Jarecki	EFFINGHAM	Y	Y	Y
Linda Mailhot	FREEDOM	N		
Melissa Florio	FREEDOM	Y	Y	Y
Bill Houk	HALES LOC	ZOOM	Y	Y
Ben Klaus	HALES LOC	N		
John Gallagher	HARTS LOC	Y	Y	Y
David Walker	HARTS LOC	Y		
Bill Lord	MADISON	N		
Mary Cronin	MADISON	Y	Y	Y
Bill Gassman	MOULTONBORO	Y		
Jean Beadle	MOULTONBORO	Y	Y	Y
Matt Sawyer Jr.	OSSIPEE	N		
Matt Trahan	OSSIPEE	N		
Sherryl Hitte	TAMWORTH	N		
Andrew Chehayl	TAMWORTH	Y	Y	Y
Maureen Keskela	TAMWORTH	N		
Guy Pike	TUFTONBORO	N		
Bob Murray	TUFTONBORO	Y	Y	Y
	YES	14 + 1	11	11
	NO	1		0